La Luz announces new Ty Segall-produced album, shares “You Disappear” — listen

Sophomore album Weirdo Shrine hits shelves in August


Seattle surf-rock outfit La Luz is set to return with its sophomore album, Weirdo Shrine, on August 7th through Hardly Art. The follow-up to 2012’s It’s Alive spans 11 tracks and was produced by prolific Bay Area garage rocker Ty Segall, who, according to the band, taught ’em a thing or two about cranking up the distortion.

“[Segall] wanted to put fuzz in every song,” frontwoman Shana Cleveland told SPIN recently. “I’d never used fuzz before. I’ve always used pretty minimal effects on the guitar. Sometimes I use a tiny bit of delay, but mostly I use tons of reverb and leave it at that. But he just kept going, ‘Yeah, that was great, but let’s try it with the fuzz pedal on.'”

In terms of theme, the LP includes a couple of “weird love songs” and “songs about being a creep,” but prominently features the subject matter of death, something La Luz is unfortunately familiar with after a near-fatal car accident back in 2013. Our first preview of the record, however, is “You Disappear”, a barbed and fiery number inspired by Richard Brautigan’s “A Boat” poem. Listen in below.

Weirdo Shrine Artwork:
La Luz new album hardly art

Weirdo Shrine Tracklist:
01. Sleep Till They Die
02. You Disappear
03. With Davey
04. Don’t Wanna Be Anywhere
05. I Can’t Speak
06. Hey Papi
07. I Wanna Be Alone (With You)
08. I’ll Be True
09. Black Hole, Weirdo Shrine
10. Oranges
11. True Love Knows