Stream: Albert Hammond Jr.’s new album Momentary Masters

The Strokes guitarist's first full-length in seven years


On July 31st, The Strokes guitarist Albert Hammond Jr. will release his new solo album, Momentary Masters. In anticipation, it’s streaming in full below.

The 10-track effort follows his 2008 LP ¿Cómo Te Llama? and 2013 AHJ EP. As opposed to his previous releases, which were put out through Julian Casablancas’ own Cult Records, the new album will be issued by Vagrant Records/BMG.

Produced by longtime Strokes collaborator Gus Oberg, Momentary Masters also sees Hammond enlisting a handful of musicians for the recording sessions, including guitarists Mon Khmer’s Hammarsing Kharhmar and Bleachers’ Mikey Hart, bassist Jordan Brooks, and drummer Jeremy Gustin. (This is contrast to last release AHJ, which featured Hammond on nearly all of the instruments.)

In a recent interview, Hammond discussed the messages he hoped to convey on the album:

“For a while I really liked the idea that we all exist with a shadow. It’s an idea that over the past couple of years has driven me emotionally. I feel like from a young age you put things to the side depending on how people interact with you but you always exist with this other side of you that didn’t really get to grow. It usually ends up being seen as a negative side and people will always try to throw it away, but I’ve felt that as time has gone by, you really need to grab it and bring it closer to you to be complete.”

Momentary Masters was preceded by the songs “Born Slippy”, “Side Boob”, and “Losing Touch”Pre-orders for the LP are ongoing.

Momentary Masters Tracklist:
01. Born Slippy
02. Power Hungry
03. Caught By My Shadow
04. Coming to Getcha
05. Losing Touch
06. Don’t Think Twice
07. Razors Edge
08. Touché
09. Drunched In Crumbs
10. Side Boob