Stream: Chelsea Wolfe’s new album Abyss

Neo-folk songwriter wrestles with "human frailty, intimacy, quiet passion, anxiety" on fifth LP


Chelsea Wolfe returns with her new album, Abyss, on August 7th through Sargent House. In anticipation, the LP is streaming in its entirety below via

Spanning 11 tracks, the follow-up to 2013’s Pain Is Beauty serves as the neo-folk songwriter’s fifth to date. It is preceded by the songs “After the Fall”“Carrion Flowers”, “Grey Days”, and “Iron Moon”.

According to a press release, the record plays out like a “score” to a realm Wolfe describes as “the hazy afterlife … an inverted thunderstorm … the dark backward … the abyss of time,” and explores heady subjects of “human frailty, intimacy, quiet passion, anxiety, and deep longing.” Wolfe added, “Abyss is meant to have the feeling of when you’re dreaming, and you briefly wake up, but then fall back asleep into the same dream, diving quickly into your own subconscious.”

Abyss Tracklist:
01. Carrion Flowers
02. Iron Moon
03. Dragged Out
04. Maw
05. Grey Days
06. After the Fall
07. Crazy Love
08. Simple Death
09. Survive
10. Color of Blood
11. The Abyss