Sun Kil Moon and Jesu announce collaborative album

Plus, watch Mark Kozelek perform on stage with Sonic Youth's Thurston Moore and Steve Shelley


Mark Kozelek released his last as Sun Kil MoonUniversal Themes just last month, but already he’s got another in the works. Sun Kil Moon/Jesu is due out on February 19th through Kozelek’s Caldo Verde Records, and, as its title implies, is a collaborative record with Justin Broadrick’s post-metal outfit Jesu.

The LP, which Broadrick had teased earlier this spring, spans nine tracks with names such as “Carondelet”, “Father’s Day”, and the very Kozelek-titled “Last Night I Rocked the Room Like Elvis and Had Them Laughing Like Richard Pryor”. Check out the full tracklist below.

(Read: Fell By Leather: A Conversation Between Mark Kozelek and Anar Badalov)

Over the years, Kozelek and Broadrick have teamed up in various capacities; previously, Jesu’s Opiate Sun LP was issued via Caldo Verde, and once Kozelek covered “Like Rats”, a song by Broadrick’s former band Godflesh. For Jesu, this is the first new project since the group’s 2013 full-length, Everyday I Get Closer to the Light from Which I Came.

Jesu/Sun Kil Moon Tracklist:
01. Good Morning My Love
02. Carondelet
03. A Song of Shadows
04. Last Night I Rocked the Room Like Elvis and Had Them Laughing Like Richard Pryor
05. Fragile
06. Father’s Day
07. Sally
08. America’s Most Wanted Mark Kozelek and John Dillinger
09. Exodus

In related news, Kozelek recently teamed up with Thurston Moore and Steve Shelley of Sonic Youth at UK’s Latitude Festival. Watch fan-shot video of them performing “Richard Ramirez Died Today of Natural Causes”.