Watkins Family Hour cover Grateful Dead’s “Brokedown Palace” — listen

Off the self-titled debut LP from Sara and Sean Watkins' stage show

watkins family hour fiona apple self titled album new album

The self-titled debut album from Sara and Sean Watkins’ stage show, Watkins Family Hour, is due out July 24th on Family Hour Records via Thirty Tigers. All 11 of the album’s tracks are classic covers, of which we’ve thus far heard Fleetwood Mac’s “Steal Your Heart Away”. Now, the band has shared their version of Grateful Dead’s “Brokedown Palace”.

The Family pulls the Dead’s original version back from the dusk and into a bit of the dying light of sunset. Sara’s crystal clear lead vocals do part of the work, but the slightly faster tempo of the band is what really shines. All types of gently strummed strings and lap steel add a buoyancy to the track, something that’s highlighted as they each trade off short solos around the two-minute mark. Take a listen below.

In addition to the Watkins siblings, Watkins Family Hour will feature many musicians who have joined the stage show over the years, including Fiona Apple and Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers keyboardist Benmont Tench. A tour kicking off with a spot at the venerable Newport Folk Fest is also in that cards; find those dates here and the tracklist below.

Watkins Family Hour Tracklist:
01. Feelin’ Good Again (written by Robert Earl Keen, lead vocals by Sara Watkins)
02. Where I Ought To Be (written by Harlan Howard, lead vocals by Fiona Apple and Sara Watkins)
03. Not In Nottingham (written by Roger Miller, lead vocals by Sean Watkins)
04. Steal Your Heart Away (written by Lindsey Buckingham, lead vocals by Sara Watkins)
05. Prescription for the Blues (written by Saunders Montgomery, lead vocals by Benmont Tench)
06. Going Going Gone (written by Bob Dylan, lead vocals by Sean Watkins)
07. Hop High (traditional, arranged by Watkins Family Hour, lead vocals by Sara Watkins)
08. She Thinks I Still Care (written by Dickey Lee Lipscomb, lead vocals by Sebastian Steinberg)
09. The King of the 12 Oz. Bottles (written by Lee Ving, lead vocals by Don Heffington)
10. Early Morning Rain (written by Gordon Lightfoot, lead vocals by Sara Watkins)
11. Brokedown Palace (written by Robert C. Hunter and Jerry Garcia, lead vocals by Sara Watkins)