Willis Earl Beal shares stirring new single “Survive” — listen

Enigmatic experimental blues artist drops another off of Noctunes


Photo​ ​by Rodrigo Melgarejo

After issuing it in very limited quantities back in January, Willis Earl Beal is set to release his Noctunes LP wide on August 28th via Tender Loving Empire. It’s been a few weeks since we heard the first two songs off the release, “Flying So Low” and “Midnight”, and now Beal is back with the album’s latest single, “Survive”.

(Read: Willis Earl Beal: Everything Unwinds)

Like much of Beal’s prior work, “Survive” takes on minimal dressings, with wavering drones making murky the twinkling synths and hushed percussion. It’s the singer’s voice, as usual, that creates the unique richness of this lo-fi soul as Beal sings in a coo that’s at once wounded and comforting, “They tell you get off the stage but you can’t hear the call/ So stop beating your chest and acting like King Kong/ if you wanna survive.” Take a listen:

Noctunes Tracklist:
01. Under You
02. Flying So Low
03. Like a Box
04. Lust
05. No Solution
06. Stay
07. Say the Words
08. Love Is All Around
09. Able to Wait
10. Survive
11. Start Over
12. Midnight