Bikini Kill unearths previously unreleased song “Playground” — listen

Fuzz-drenched song dates back to their 1991 debut tape, Revolution Girl Style Now


Next month, Bikini Kill will unearth the latest installment in their reissue series, and it’s one that diehard fans have been waiting for for some time. On September 22nd, the band will make its 1991 debut demo tape, Revolution Girl Style Now, available on CD and vinyl for the very first time. The collection collects the eight original tracks, plus three previously unreleased songs.

One of those, entitled “Playground”, has surfaced after more than two decades in all its fuzz-soaked intensity. According to a press release, tape ran out while the Washington riot grrrls were recording the track, so what you hear is an incomplete, albeit awesomely raw, version. Listen in below.

Along with “Playground”, Bikini Kill spoke to Rolling Stone about the recording process of Revolution Girl Style Now, including how they used to tape over old Nirvana cassettes. (Quick: Go check to see if you’ve got one of those originals!)

“Actually, the cassette was recorded primarily… [Nirvana] had all these cassettes, and the record company or whoever was putting it out accidentally put the same songs on both sides, and they couldn’t use [the tapes]. And they gave us this bag of used cassettes, so we taped over them, and then we just put a cassette label over it to hide the “Nirvana” bit. If anyone has an original one, they can peel that off and they’ll see it. And also you can actually hear, because our music will stop first, and then you can hear the end of “Negative Creep,” or whatever.”

Revolution Girl Style Now Reissue Tracklist:
01. Candy
02. Dadd’s L’il Girl
03. Feels Blind
04. Suck My Left One
05. Carnival
06. This Is Not a Test
07. Double Dare Ya
08. Liar
09. Ocean Song
10. Just Once
11. Playground