City Calm Down shares new song “Wandering” — listen

Australian indie rockers get hyper-emotional with new track and video


Melbourne indie rockers City Calm Down have been riding a good buzz since they released their debut EP, Movements, in 2012. The record led to opening slots and tours with the likes of CHVRCHES, alt-J, and Bombay Bicycle Club. Three years later, the Aussies are finally readying their debut album, In a Restless House, due out November 6th via I OH YOU. As an early sample of the album, they’ve shared a dramatic new single and video for their track “Wandering”.

Opening with faint piano chords, frontman Jack Bourke’s booming baritone soon comes in to rattle life into the song. Drums follow shortly after, assisting the track’s escalation from ballad to full-blown epic. The accompanying video matches the aesthetic with a young boy lip-syncing the lyrics alone in a shadowy room. The band manages to balance between brooding and exciting, never letting one emotion take over and delving into emotional complexity.

“In the video for ‘Wandering’, we were trying to capture that awkward anxiety one feels when they believe they are being misunderstood and disrespected, which inevitably leads to palpable frustration if not resolved,” the band tells Consequence of Sound. “We felt that the contrast of the young boy singing the song, which features Jack’s baritone vocal, would heighten that sense of unease and awkwardness and frustration expressed in the song’s lyrics. We were a bit unsure as to whether that contrast would work, but Casey (who played the part) delivered a pretty amazing performance and really, everything just hangs on his expression and the way he spits the words out.”

Check it out below.

The band will also embark on a mini-tour around their native Australia ahead of the album’s release. Consult the schedule below, and check out previous single “Rabbit Run”.

City Calm Down 2015 Tour Dates:
10/03 – Melbourne, AU @ Howler
10/09 – Adelaide, AU @ Rocket Bar
10/10 – Perth, AU @ Jack Rabbit Slims
10/16 – Sydney, AU @ Newton Social Club
10/30 – Brisbane, AU @ Black Bear Lodge

In a Restless House Tracklist:
01. Intro
02. Border on Control
03. Son
04. Rabbit Run
05. Wandering
06. Your Fix
07. Nowhere to Start
08. If There’s a Light On
09. Falling
10. Until I Get By
11. In a Restless House