Dinosaur Jr.’s Lou Barlow shares new song “Moving” — listen

Our first taste of his forthcoming solo album, Brace the Wave


Photo by Rachel Enneking

In less than four weeks’ time, Lou Barlow will release Brace the Wave, his first solo album since 2009’s Goodnight Unknown. Due to hit shelves via Joyful Noise, the nine-track effort was recorded in Easthampton, Massachusetts with Justin Pizzoferrato (Pixies, Speedy Ortiz, J Mascis).

Last month, the Dinosaur Jr. bassist shared the album trailer; now, he’s let loose its first official single in “Moving”. The track, which has a hypnotic, drone-like quality to it, was reportedly recorded off-the-cuff with a detuned ukulele. Echoing the sentiments of the LP title, the song is about facing challenges head-on. Listen in below.

Brace the Wave arrives on September 4th; in support, Barlow will head out on a short US fall tour.

Brace the Wave Tracklist:
01. Redeemed
02. Nerve
03. Moving
04. Pulse
05. Wave
06. Lazy
07. Boundaries
08. C & E
09. Repeat