Joanna Newsom announces new album, Divers, shares “Sapokanikan” — listen

The follow-up to 2010's Have One on Me is due out this fall


Photo by Annabel Mehran

Joanna Newsom has announced her first new album in five years. Entitled Divers, the follow-up to 2010’s Have One on Me is due from Drag City on October 23rd.

Spanning 11 tracks, Divers features contributions from Nico Muhly and Dirty ProjectorsDave Longstreth, along with Steve Albini, who co-produced the LP.

The folk musician has teased the record with single “Sapokanikan”. Full of glockenspiel, horns, and flutes, it’s everything that we’ve been missing from the singer in her absence. Listen below via its official video, which sees Newsom wandering through a winter cityscape as dusk falls. Update: The video was directed by Paul Thomas Anderson.

A statement on the label’s website reads, “further along and down the road apiece from where she took her leave of us, Joanna Newsom plays on. Breathe deep and equalize your today-ears to the new world of Divers.”

Divers Artwork:

unnamed (1)

Divers Tracklist:
01. Anecdotes
02. Sapokanikan
03. Leaving the City
04. Goose Eggs
05. Waltz of the 101st Lightborne
06.The Things I Say
07. Divers
08. Same Old Man
09. You Will Not Take My Heart Alive
10. A Pin-Light Bent
11. Time, As a Symptom