Keith Richards shares two new solo songs “Substantial Damage” and “Amnesia” — listen

In anticipation of Crosseyed Heart, his first album in more than two decades


In less than a month’s time, Keith Richards will release his first solo album in more than 20 years. Crosseyed Heart, the long-awaited follow-up to 1992’s Main Offender, spans a generous 15 tracks and counts Norah Jones and various members of Richards’ X-Pensive Winos band as guest collaborators.

Already we’ve heard the lead single“Trouble” (as well as seen its studio-set music video). Now, The Rolling Stones guitarist has let loose a pair of new songs in “Amnesia” and “Substantial Damage”. The former’s a bluesy little rocker; meanwhile, the latter employs a winding groove that’s tough to shake off long after the track’s ended. Both were “unlocked” by fans this week via a scavenger hunt-type campaign on Richards’ website.

Listen to the two songs below.

Crosseyed Heart hits shelves on September 18th.

In related news, Tom Waits recently penned a short poem honoring Richards’ life and career.

01. Crosseyed Heart
02. Heartstopper
03. Amnesia
04. Robbed Blind
05. Trouble
06. Love Overdue
07. Nothing On Me
08. Suspicious
09. Blues in the Morning
10. Something For Nothing
11. Illusion
12. Just a Gift
13. Goodnight
14. Substantial Damage
15. Lover’s Plea