St. Vincent and a fan named Macarena talk Mexican heritage, swap mixtapes — listen

Hour-long playlist features The Smiths, Selena, ZZ Top, and more

St. Vincent // Photo by Autumn Andel

Photo by Autumn Andel

St. Vincent, also known as Taylor Swift’s latest #squad member, returned to Beats 1’s airwaves last night for a new edition of her “Mixtape Delivery Service.” The latest episode centered around a Texas native named Macarena and her love of her family’s Mexican heritage.

(Read: Letters to St. Vincent: Make Me a Mixtape, Annie!)

She and Annie Clark discussed what it means to identify with more than one culture, and later, in keeping with the theme of multiculturalism, the two ended up actually swapping playlists. Altogether, the hour-long mix featured songs from a varied bunch, including ZZ Top, The Smiths, Selena, Destiny’s Child, Marc Anthony, DJ Premier, and Ozomatli.

Listen to the whole thing via Apple Music.

St. Vincent’s Mixtape Delivery Service (August 25th):
01. Noel Lopez – “Tierra”
02. Buena Vista Social Club – Candela
03. ZZ Top – “Precious and Grace”
04. Destiny’s Child – “Girl
05. DJ Premier – “Dots”
06. Ozomatli – “Cumbia de los Muertos”
07. Los Lobos – “Kiko and the Lavender Moon”
08. The Smiths – “Ask”
09. Selena – “Como La Flor”
10. Marc Anthony – “Vivir Mi Vida”
11. Juanes – “Odio por Amor”
12. Mana – “Labios Compartidos”
13. Quantic – “Duvido”
14. Bomba Estereo – “Amanecer”