Stream: Destroyer’s new album Poison Season

Dan Bejar channels " sophisti-pop" for album No. 10


Dan Bejar will issue his new album as Destroyer, Poison Season, on August 28th through Merge Records. In anticipation, the LP is streaming in full below via NPR.

The 13-track effort follows 2011’s Kaputt and serves as the tenth Destroyer full-length to date. According to a press release, the new album “often appears to take sonic cues from a distinctly British (usually Scottish, to be precise) strain of sophisti-pop: you might hear traces of Aztec Camera, Prefab Sprout, Orange Juice, or The Blow Monkeys. These songs merge a casual literary brilliance within intense melodic verve, nimble arrangements, and a certain blue-eyed-soul sadness.”

(Read: Destroyer in 10 Songs)

The tracklist contains three versions of a song titled “Times Square, Poison Season”. The opening track was recorded with a string quintet; a reprisal appearing in the middle of the album is described as saxophone “street-rock”; and a “curtain-closing reverie” serves as the closing track.

Pre-orders are ongoing. Revisit the video for “Girl in a Sling”.

Poison Season Tracklist:
01. Times Square, Poison Season
02. Dream Lover
03. Forces From Above
04. Hell
05. The River
06. Girl in a Sling
07. Times Square
08. Archer on the Beach
09. Midnight Meet the Rain
10. Solace’s Bride
11. Bangkok
12. Sun in the Sky
13. Times Square, Poison Season II