Stream: Foals’ new album What Went Down

Frontman Yannis Philippakis channels his "inner madman" for the band's fourth LP


Today, Foals return with their new album, What Went Down, via Warner Music. Spotify users can stream it in full below.

The UK indie rockers’ fourth full-length features 10 tracks and follows 2013’s Holy Fire. It was recorded in France with producer James Ford, known for his work with Arctic Monkeys, HAIM, and Florence and the Machine. What Went Down was preceded by the songs “Mountain at My Gates”, “A Knife in the Ocean”, and the title track.

In her review of the album, Nina Corcoran writes, “They meshed pop with math rock on Antidotes and pop with groove on Holy Fire, but here it’s pop with pill-sized glamour, albeit dark, that unfortunately resonates like a collection of songs so overworked they lost their initial inspiration, improvisation, and, most clearly, spirit. Rhythm builds and synth waves become the norm no matter how brusque Philippakis’ voice scratches. Taking a large musical step forward was the right move for Foals to make; smoothing the album out repeatedly until it becomes flat wasn’t.”

What Went Down Tracklist:
01. What Went Down
02. Mountain at My Gates
03. Birch Tree
04. Give It All
05. Albatross
06. Snake Oil
07. Night Swimmers
08. London Thunder
09. Lonely Hunter
10. A Knife in the Ocean