Stream: k-os’ new album Can’t Fly Without Gravity

Toronto rapper returns with genre-bending new collection

Can't Fly Without Gravity

Toronto rapper Kevin Brererton, aka k-os, has been a renaissance man since he emerged in 2002. He’s won three Juno Awards, been nominated for a Grammy, and even performed at the 2010 Winter Olympics. All the while he’s constantly changed his creative approach, at one point scrapping the notion of albums and fusing different genres like rock and electronic music.

In 2013, he dropped his fifth album, BLack on BLonde, a double LP with one side dedicated to hip-hop tracks and the other populated with rock songs. Now, he’s back with an equally ambitious record titled Can’t Fly Without Gravity via Dine Alone Records. Ahead of its September 4th release date, the 13-track effort streaming in full below via Spotify.

Much like his past work, Can’t Fly Without Gravity is an eclectic and energetic batch of tracks. One minute he’ll be spitting over trap beats, the next he’s crooning over soul rhythms. Listening to the record is like being taken on a grand tour of the eras of hip-hop — like Charles Dickens’ A Christmas Carol, he gives glimpses of the genre’s past, present, and future. For a rapper that’s always been on the cutting edge, it’s another testament to his celebration of experimentation.

Brereton says the album is an affirmation that “the forces which pull you down are simply put there to inspire you to rise above them.”

Can’t Fly Without Gravity Tracklist
01. Snapback
02. WiLD4TheNight (EgoLand)
03. Dance In Yo Car
04. Hussle & Flow
05. Get Up
06. Crucify
07. Vous Deux (Denzel Washington)
08. Boyz II Men (feat. Saukrates, Kardinal Offishall, Choclair, King Reign, and Shad)
09. Rap Zealot
10. Spaceship
11. Turn Me Loose
12. Steel Sharpens Steel
13. Another Shot (A.S)