Stream: Lou Barlow’s new album Brace the Wave

Dinosaur Jr. bassist's first solo record in six years chronicles a transitional period

Dinosaur Jr. and Sebadoh member Lou Barlow will release his new solo album, Brace the Wave, on September 4th via Joyful Noise. In anticipation, the LP is streaming in full below courtesy of

His first solo record in six years follows 2009’s Goodnight Unknown and was recorded in less than a week’s time in Easthampton, Massachusetts with Justin Pizzoferrato (Pixies, Speedy Ortiz, J Mascis). According to a press release, the album finds Barlow “exploring yet another transitional period in his life”; many of the nine tracks see him employing “his early methods of tuning his ukelele down low,” while others are “traditional-style folk” numbers.

Brace the Wave was preceded by the songs “Moving” and “Wave”.

Pre-orders are ongoing.

Brace the Wave Tracklist:
01. Redeemed
02. Nerve
03. Moving
04. Pulse
05. Wave
06. Lazy
07. Boundaries
08. C & E
09. Repeat


Follow Consequence