Stream: The Atom Age’s new album Hot Shame

Oakland punks refine their sound with third LP


Oakland punk outfit The Atom Age has always moved rapidly. After forming in 2009, the band almost immediately started touring. All the way through 2014, they rarely left the road, simultaneously releasing two records so they’d have more material to support. When they finally took a break after spending all their time and energy developing their live set, they saw an opportunity to refine their sound once again.

The last year saw them working on material and augmenting their lineup with the addition of an organist. Blag Dahlia from garage legends The Dwarves also joined the band behind the boards as producer. Now, these sessions are finally being released as The Atom Age’s third album, Hot Shame, out August 28th via Asian Man Records. In anticipation, it’s streaming in full below.

“We dug deep on this record to refine our sound and channel the energy of all the old 60s’ garage and R&B nuggets we love,” vocalist/guitarist Ryan Perras explains to Consequence of Sound. “Being lucky enough to work with Blag was huge. With his knowledge of primal Rock N Roll and his lengthy experience, Blag was able to help steer all the elements in the right direction while giving some great songwriting advice. Blag also pushed us to add a combo organ to the band which enabled us to add another layer of power and grit to the songs, while blending nicely with our tenor sax. We got a lot more of what we really want this band to be this time around.”

The 10-track effort sees the band taking their already pulverizing sound and adding extra oomph. On the title track, the band seers the eardrums with jagged guitar riffs, organ drones, and demented saxophone screams. Elsewhere, on “Ms. Death Texas”, the band indulges in feverish southern aesthetics, sounding like a death march on a scolding freeway. The album is the band operating at their most vicious, completely upping the ante on their past work.

Pre-orders are ongoing.

Hot Shame Tracklist:
01. It’s A Mess
02. Hot Shame
03. Barracuda
04. Ms. Death Texas
05. Do It Now
06. Negative Mind
07. Hear Them Scream
08. Wild Worry
09. Too Much Fun
10. Wasteoid