Telekinesis shares gorgeous new song “Sleep In” — listen

Taken from Michael Benjamin Lerner's upcoming fourth album, Ad Infinitum


Singer-songwriter Michael Benjamin Lerner returns with his fourth studio album as Telekinesis next month. Due out through Merge Records, Ad Infinitum sees him tinkering with drum machines, synthesizers, and pulling from a bygone era, as a press release explains:

“While many artists have made fruitful use of vintage sounds and production techniques in recent years, Ad Infinitum is a different animal. It feels less like a time capsule and more like a time machine. In the movie version of the story, Lerner would stumble on his way down the stairs, hit his head, and wake up in 1983, and the only way he could get back to the present day would be to make a record using available instruments. Then he’d wake in 2015 to discover he’d been in his basement studio all along. And the record he’d made in that strange dream state would turn out to be Ad Infinitum, the most ambitious and assured Telekinesis release to date.”

Already we’ve heard the lead single “In a Future World”; today, Lerner has let loose “Sleep In”, a rich and sweeping pop number outfitted with synths that soar, groan, and fizzle. Listen in below.

Ad Infinitum, the follow-up to 2013’s Dormarion, arrives on September 18th. In support, he’ll hit the road for a North American fall tour.

Ad Infinitum Tracklist:
01. Falling (In Dreams)
02. Sylvia
03. In a Future World
04. Courtesy Phone
05. Sleep In
06. Edgewood
07. It’s Not Yr Fault
08. Farmers Road
09. Ad Infinitum, Pt. 1
10. Ad Infinitum, Pt. 2