The Libertines share new single “Glasgow Coma Scale Blues” — listen

Reunited London rockers acknowledge their troubled past on Anthems For Doomed Youth track


It’s been a bumpy road to the return of The Libertines. The tag-team frontmen Pete Doherty and Carl Barât infamously fell out years back, reconciling only recently as the band prepped their reunion album, Anthems for Doomed YouthBut just because the boys are back together, that doesn’t mean they’ve forgotten their past, as detailed on new single “Glasgow Coma Scale Blues”.

Crunchy guitars spar over a staggering, swaggering rhythm, much like the alternating lead vocalists trade lines. Doherty and Barât switch back and forth in their trademarked style, singing as if the song were written as the two had a real heart-to-heart about their troubled history. They come together for a chorus where they simultaneously blame each other and mourn the years of separation: “The only thing that kept us apart/ Was your cold, unloving heart/ Your cold, cold heart./ What happened to the joy in the hearts of the boys/ at the start of the part of the seams?”

Check it out below.

Update — Friday 9:30 a.m.: The Libertines have also shared the album’s title track.

“Glasgow Coma Scale Blues” is the third track we’ve heard off of Anthems for Doomed Youth following “Gunga Din” and a live debut of “Barbarians”. We’ll hear the rest when the record drops September 11th (pushed back from the 4th) via Harvest Records/Virgin EMI.

Anthems For Doomed Youth Tracklist:
01. Barbarians
02. Gunga Din
03. Fame and Fortune
04. Anthem for Doomed Youth
05. Heart of the Matter
06. Belly of the Beast
07. Iceman
08. You’re My Waterloo
09. Fury of Chonburi
10. The Milkman’s Horse
11. Glasgow Coma Scale Blues
12. Dead for Love
13. Love on the Dole *
14. Bucket Shop *
15. Lust of the Libertines *
16. 7 Deadly Sins *

* = bonus tracks