Big Boi and Phantogram announce debut EP as Big Grams

Featuring collaborations with Run the Jewels and Skrillex


Big Boi and Phantogram debuted their collaborative project, Big Grams, at last month’s Epic Fest, as well as teased that new music would be on the way soon. The supergroup has made good on its promise, today announcing the release of their first EP. Due out on September 25th via Epic, the seven-track, self-titled effort includes collaborations with Run the Jewels and Skrillex.

Both Big Boi and Phantogram previously linked up on Big Boi’s guest-heavy 2012 LP, Vicious Lies & Dangerous Rumors; Run the Jewels’ own Killer Mike also appeared on that record.

According to a new interview, Big Boi came to learn about Phantogram after stumbling across a random pop-up ad featuring their song 2009 single “Mouthful of Diamonds”. Following Big Grams the EP, they also say they plan to release more material and hit the road together. Phantogram’s Sarah Barthel discussed what fans can expect from the supergroup:

“It’s kind of a taste of ideas. It’s not Big Boi and Phantogram music. It’s Big Grams, which is different. It’s a whole different project. It’s stuff that we wouldn’t put on our own records, but just kind of something completely different so you get a taste of. There’s songs that I rap on, there’s songs that Big sings on. There’s songs that Josh raps on. It doesn’t sound pretentious in any way, because we just wanted to do whatever the fuck we wanted to do.”

Below, find the artwork and tracklist. The first single “Fell in the Sun” is expected to premiere on Zane Lowe’s Beats 1 show tomorrow morning.

Big Grams EP Artwork:


Big Grams EP Tracklist:
01. Run for Your Life
02. Lights On
03. Fell In The Sun
04. Put It On Her
05. Goldmine Junkie
06. Born To Shine (feat. Run the Jewels)
07. Drum Machine (feat. Skrillex)