Faces share previously unreleased version of “Flying” — listen

A bonus cut off the UK group's new box set, You Can Make Me Dance, Sing or Anything

After being dormant for more than four decades, Faces have finally returned — and in a very big way. Not only are they scheduled to reunite next month in the UK, but Rod Stewart and the gang also have a massive new box set on the shelves.

You Can Make Me Dance, Sing or Anything (1970-1975) consists of remastered versions of all four of the group’s albums — The First Step (1970), Long Player (1971), A Nod Is as Good as a Wink…to a Blind Horse (1971), and Ooh La La (1973). Each LP comes with a handful of previously unreleased material in the form of rehearsal tracks, alternate takes, and BBC audio sessions; plus, there’s a whole separate record of rarities, such as a trumpet-accompanied rendition of “I Wish It Would Rain”.

The English rockers — Stewart (vocals), Kenney Jones (drums), Ronnie Lane (bass/vocals), Ian McLagan (keyboard), and Ronnie Wood (guitar/vocals) — have broken off one of those bonus cuts, an unheard take of The First Step track “Flying”. Though it clocks in at nearly the same time as the original, the arrangement of Stewart’s vocals and the instrumental breakdown differs slightly.

Take a listen below; it’s the first time the song’s been available to stream online in the US.

You Can Make Me Dance… is out now via Rhino; order a copy here.

As we mentioned, Faces will reunite to headline Rock ‘n’ Horsepower at Hurtwood Park Polo Club in Ewhurst, Surrey, UK on September 5th. The third annual charity concert, co-organized by Stewart and Jones, benefits Prostate Cancer UK.

“This is the third Rock ‘n’ Horsepower we’ve put on for Prostate Cancer UK and it’s shaping up to be the biggest yet,” Stewart said in a statement. “The years of The Faces were some of the best of my life and I’m so proud to have been a part of the band. I’m unbelievably excited to have the opportunity to get up on stage with Rod and Ronnie again.”

You Can Make Me Dance, Sing or Anything (1970-1975) Tracklist:

The First Step:
01. Wicked Messenger
02. Devotion
03. Shake, Shudder, Shiver
04. Stone
05. Around the Plynth
06. Flying
07. Pineapple and the Monkey
08. Nobody Knows
09. Looking Out the Window
10. Three Button Hand Me Down
11. Behind the Sun (Outtake) *
12. Mona – The Blues (Outtake) *
13. Shake, Shudder, Shiver (BBC Session) *
14. Flying (Take 3) *
15. Nobody Knows (Take 2) *

Long Player:
01. Bad ‘n’ Ruin
02. Tell Everyone
03. Sweet Lady Mary
04. Richmond
05. Maybe I’m Amazed
06. Had Me On A Real Good Time
07. On The Beach
08. I Feel So Good
09. Jerusalem
10. Whole Lotta Woman (Outtake) *
11. Tell Everyone (Take 1) *
12. Sham-Mozzal (Instrumental – Outtake) *
13. Too Much Woman (Live) *
14. Love in Vain (Live) *

A Nod Is As Good As A Wink…To A Blind Horse:
01. Miss Judy’s Farm
02. You’re So Rude
03. Love Lives Here
04. Last Orders Please
05. Stay With Me
06. Debris
07. Memphis
08. Too Bad
09. That’s All You Need
10. Miss Judy’s Farm (BBC Session) *
11. Stay With Me (BBC Session) *

Ooh La La:
01. Silicon Grown
02. Cindy Incidentally
03. Flags and Banners
04. My Fault
05. Borstal Boys
06. Fly In the Ointment
07. If I’m on the Late Side
08. Glad and Sorry
09. Just Another Honky
10. Ooh La La
11. Cindy Incidentally (BBC Session) *
12. Borstal Boys (Rehearsal) *
13. Silicon Growth (Rehearsal) *
14. Glad and Sorry (Rehearsal) *
15. Jealous Guy (Live) *

Bonus LP:
01. Pool Hall Richard
02. I Wish It Would Rain (With a trumpet)
03. Rear Wheel Skid
04. Maybe I’m Amazed
05. Oh Lord I’m Browned Off
06. You Can Make Me Dance, Sing or Anything (Even Take The Dog For A Walk, Mend A Fuse, Fold Away The Ironing Board, Or Any Other Domestic Short Comings) (UK Single Version)
07. As Long As You Tell Him
08. Skewiff (Mend The Fuse)
09. Dishevelment Blues

* = previously unreleased


Follow Consequence