New details on Kurt Cobain solo album revealed

Montage of Heck: The Home Recordings set for a November 13th street date

Last month, we’d noted that a new album of previously unreleased Kurt Cobain music would be arriving in November to coincide with the DVD/Blu-ray edition of Brett Morgen’s Montage of Heck documentary. Now, more details of collection have been revealed.

Dubbed Montage of Heck: The Home Recordings, it’s due out on November 13th on CD, cassette, and digital formats; both a 13-track standard edition and 31-track deluxe edition will be available. In addition to a comedy sketch (yes, really), a press release (via Pitchfork) notes it will include song snippets, demos, and “musical experiments.”

In an interview with Billboard, Morgen, who discovered the home recordings while sifting through Cobain’s archives, said: “[It’s] curated to feel as though one were sitting in Kurt’s living room watching him create over the course of an afternoon.” The songs range “from thrash to ragtime and everything in between.”

(Watch: How Brett Morgen crafted the quintessential Kurt Cobain documentary)

“These are all just Kurt by himself with the guitar,” he added. “These aren’t multi-track, finished songs or work-ups, but they’re extraordinary, and I think they provide a tremendous insight into his [creative] process. I think they further our understanding of Kurt, both as a musician and as a man.”

Not long after the release of The Home Recordings, a 7-inch containing Cobain’s cover of The Beatles’ “And I Love Her” and a rare acoustic track titled “Sappy” is due to hit shelves on December 4th. Also on that day, a deluxe vinyl edition of The Home Recordings will go on sale.

Meanwhile, a “super deluxe” version of the documentary will include the album, along with 48 minutes of interview material, a 160-page book featuring old photos, a movie poster, and more goodies. Look for that beginning November 13th.

Update – Wednesday, October 7th: Morgen has revealed the tracklist for Montage of Heck: The Home Recordings. It will be available both as a 13-track standard and 31-track deluxe editions.

Montage of Heck: The Home Recordings Tracklist:
01. The Yodel Song
02. Been a Son (Early Demo)
03. What More Can I Say
04. 1988 Capitol Lake Jam Commercial
05. The Happy Guitar
06. Montage of Kurt
07. Beans
08. Burn the Rain
09. Clean Up Before She Comes (Early Demo)
10. Reverb Experiment
11. Montage of Kurt II
12. Rehash
13. You Can’t Change Me/Burn My Britches/Something in the Way (Early Demo)
14. Scoff (Early Demo)
15. Aberdeen
16. Bright Smile
17. Underground Celebritism
18. Retreat
19. Desire
20. And I Love Her
21. Sea Monkeys
22. Sappy (Early Demo)
23. Letters to Frances
24. Scream
25. Frances Farmer Will Have Her Revenge on Seattle (Demo)
26. Kurt Ambiance
27. She Only Lies
28. Kurt Audio Collage
29. Poison’s Gone
30. Rhesus Monkey
31. Do Re Mi (Medley)


Follow Consequence