Okkervil River to reissue 10th anniversary edition of Black Sheep Boy

Three-LP set includes a new album of previously unreleased covers


Okkervil River’s third studio album, the iconic Black Sheep Boy, celebrates its 10th anniversary this year. To mark the occasion, Jagjaguwar will release a special three-LP set featuring the original 2005 LP, its companion compilation Black Sheep Boy Appendix, and There Swims A Swan, a collection of previously unreleased covers of Washington Phillips, Roscoe Holcomb, and many others.

Along with new imagery by William Schaff (not to be confused with frontman Will Sheff), including “a large new piece by Schaff depicting an updated Black Sheep Boy,” the reissue comes with “lengthy liner notes by Sheff walking the listener through the circumstances surrounding the album. The 10th anniversary edition officially hits shelves on December 4th; pre-orders can be found here.

(Read: Life Is Ugly: Okkervil River’s Will Sheff on the 10th Anniversary of Black Sheep Boy)

As a preview, Sheff & co. have shared a cut off There Swims A Swan, their rendition of Tom House’s “I’m in Love with Susan Smith”. Listen in below, followed by the full tracklist.

Black Sheep Boy (10th Anniversary Edition) Artwork:

okkervil reissue Okkervil River to reissue 10th anniversary edition of Black Sheep Boy

Black Sheep Boy (10th Anniversary Edition) Tracklist:

Volume I: Black Sheep Boy:
01. Black Sheep Boy
02. For Real
03. In A Radio Song
04. Black
05. Get Big
06. A King And A Queen
07. A Stone
08. The Latest Toughs
09. Song Of Our So-Called Friend
10. So Come Back, I Am Waiting
11. A Glow

Volume II: Black Sheep Boy Appendix:
01. Missing Children
02. No Key, No Plan
03. A Garden
04. Black Sheep Boy #4
05. The Next Four Months
06. Another Radio Song
07. A Forest
08. Last Love Song For Now

Volume III: There Swims A Swan:
01. Goodnight Irene
02. I’m In Love With Susan Smith
03. See See Rider
04. Knoxville Girl
05. Satan is Real
06. Good Liquor Gonna Carry Me Down
07. Willow Tree
08. Moonshiner
09. Oh, The Wind And Rain
10. What are They Doing in Heaven Today
11. Trouble in Mind

This fall, Okkervil River will play both Black Sheep Boy and Black Sheep Boy Appendix in full at a handful of US tour dates. Consult the band’s upcoming itinerary.

Okkervil River 2015 Tour Dates:
11/20 – Washington, DC @ Black Cat ^
11/21 – New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom ^
11/24 – Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair ^
12/14 – Seattle, WA @ Columbia City Theater &
12/15 – Portland, OR @ Doug Fir Lounge &
12/18 – San Francisco, CA @ Swedish American Hall &
12/19 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Masonic Lodge &

^ = An evening with Okkervil River
& = Okkervil River (solo)