Stream: Natasha Khan’s debut album with Sexwitch

Six-track effort features '70s-era folk and psych covers


The self-titled album from Sexwitch, the new collaborative project comprised of Natasha Khan of Bat for Lashes, English indie-psych outfit TOY and producer Dan Carey, is due out on September 25th via Echo/BMG. In anticipation, the LP is streaming in full below.

The record contains six covers of ’70s-era psych and folk songs from around the world, including “Helelyos”, which originated in Iran, and “Ha Howa Ha Howa”, penned by Moroccan artist Cheikha Hadda Ouakki.

Prior to Sexwitch, Khan, Carey, and TOY had worked together before in various capacities. Carey served as producer on Bat For Lashes’ 2012 record, A Haunted Man, and all three previously recorded the song “The Bride” for the Zendooni: Funk, Psychedelia And Pop From The Iranian Pre-Revolution Generation compilation Carey’s label Speedy Wunderground put out in 2013.

Pre-order the album here.

Sexwitch Tracklist:
01. Ghoroobaa Ghashangan (Iran)
02. Ha Howa Ha Howa (Morocco)
03. Helelyos (Iran)
04. Kassidat El Hakka (Morocco)
05. War In Peace (U.S.A)
06. Lam Plearn Kiew Bao (Thailand)