Trey Anastasio shares new solo song “The Song” — listen

Phish frontman's upcoming LP, Paper Wheels, arrives next month


On October 30th, Trey Anastasio returns with his new solo album, Paper Wheels. The 12-track effort follows 2012’s Traveler and is due out through Rubber Jungle/ATO Records. The Phish frontman’s first LP with the Trey Anastasio Band in three years was recorded in less than a week’s time, according to a press release.

“Taking a cue from the energetic immediacy of classic Stax Studio recording sessions, TAB worked fast and loose, playing together live in [Anastasio’s Vermont farmhouse-turned-rehearsal space/recording studio] The Barn and wrapping up tracks after one or two takes.”

Already we’ve heard the penultimate track “Speak to Me”. Now, Anastasio has let loose a gently rolling new song simply titled “The Song”. As Jambase points out, the latest Paper Wheels cut was originally debuted live by TAB back in May 2014, and was co-written by longtime Phish collaborator Steve “The Dude of Life” Pollak. Listen in below.

In support of the new LP, Anastasio will hit the road for a US fall tour next month.

Paper Wheels Tracklist:
01. Sometime After Sunset
02. The Song
03. Never
04. In Rounds
05. Flying Machines
06. Invisible Knife
07. Lever Boy
08. Bounce
09. Liquid Time
10. Paper Wheels
11. Speak to Me
12. Cartwheels