Four Tet debuts new music from Madlib and Samuel T. Herring’s Trouble Knows Me — listen

BBC Radio 1 playlist also included new music from Lil Silva, Joy Orbison, and Pearson Sound

Trouble Knows Me

Photo by Ellie Pritts

Between his remixes for Oneohtrix Point Never (“Sticky Drama”), Jamie xx (“Seesaw”), Shura (“Touch”), and CHVRCHES (“Leave a Trace”), and his own original music (“Mothers”), one would think Four Tet barely has enough time to sleep, let alone host a three-hour radio show. But that’s precisely what Kieran Hebden did last night, sitting in for Benji B on BBC Radio 1.

Hebden didn’t just keep Benji B’s seat warm, however; he also premiered a number of new songs from fellow producers Lil Silva, Joy Orbison, and Pearson Sound. Of particular note was the debut of “Rings in the Coffee”, a previously unheard song from Trouble Knows Me, the collaborative hip-hop duo of Madlib and Samuel T. Herring of Future Islands.

The entire episode is available to stream over at BBC Radio 1.


Follow Consequence