Mogwai share intense new song “Bitterness Centrifuge” — listen

Scottish outfit's atomic bomb-themed album arrives next week

Next week, Mogwai will put out a new album called Atomic. The 10-track collection is a reworked version of the soundtrack they did for last year’s BBC documentary on the atomic bomb, Storyville – Atomic: Living in Dread and Promise.

Already we’ve heard a handful of cuts from the LP, including lead single “U-235” and “Ether”. Today, the post-rock outfit has broken off another in “Bitterness Centrifuge”.

In a previous statement, band member Stuart Braithwaite noted that Atomic project was one of the “most intense and fulfilling” Mogwai had been a part of, and the latest offering seems to showcase the potency of the subject matter and their recording experience. The five-minute offering sizzles and fizzles before collapsing into a harbinger of death complete with dooming drums. However, like most of Mogwai’s vast, cinematic material, the track’s gloomier moments are later offset by brief bits of ethereal shine.

Stream it below.

Atomic is due out digitally on April 1st through Temporary Residence. A physical CD and double vinyl release will follow on June 17th.

Atomic Tracklist:
01. Ether
03. Bitterness Centrifuge
04. U-235
05. Pripyat
06. Weak Force
07. Little Boy
08. Are You a Dancer?
09. Tzar
10. Fat Man


Follow Consequence