Smith Westerns’ Cullen Omori shares new solo song “Synthetic Romance” — listen

Full-length debut, New Misery, hits shelves next week


Smith Westerns frontman Cullen Omori will release his full-length solo debut, New Misery, in less than two weeks. Due out via Sub Pop, the 11-track was recorded by Shane Stoneback (Vampire Weekend, Sleigh Bells) and sees Omori coming into his own as an artist.

“In my mind I really wrote an album that, if I was in Smith Westerns, would essentially be all the singles,” he explained in an interview with BEAT Magazine. “I went through a real big phase of not really knowing what I wanted to do or who I was gonna be. The tracklisting is almost exactly in the order that I wrote the songs. I started with ‘No Big Deal’ and ended with ‘New Misery’ from a writing standpoint. It’s kind of a cool long form statement – this is what I am or was dealing with during my time after being in that buzz band.”

Already we’ve heard a pair of songs off the LP, “Sour Silk” and “Cinnamon”. Today, Omori has shared “Synthetic Romance”, which, like its predecessors, is blanketed in a fog of warm, psychedelic pop.

Check it out below.

New Misery lands in stores on March 18th. In support, Omori will tour the US this spring; find his itinerary here.

New Misery Tracklist:
01. No Big Deal
02. Two Kinds
03. Hey Girl
04. And Yet the World Still Turns
05. Cinnamon
06. Poison Dart
07. Sour Silk
08. Synthetic Romance
09. Be a Man
10. LOM
11. New Misery