Stream: John Carpenter’s new album Lost Themes II

The master of horror returns with another compilation of original music

Next month, legendary horror movie director and composer John Carpenter is set to return with Lost Themes II. Similar to last year’s first Lost Themes, the compilation culls together original music created by Carpenter, his son his Cody, and his godson, Daniel Davies.

Unlike on the first album, however, the Carpenters and Davies were able to work in studio together instead of collaborating digitally. “We would usually just sit down and sometimes Cody or Daniel would bring in a sketch,” the legendary director told The Quietus. “Or I would bring in an idea by myself and we would just play something to see if we could make something out of it. It’s isn’t writing as much as it is sitting and playing and letting the music come out of you. It’s total improvisation. All of it. All of it comes out. It comes out in interesting ways and this is what the fun is.”

Lost Themes II arrives on April 15th via Sacred Bones, but is streaming below (via NPR).

Also for the first time, Carpenter will be embarking on a tour in support of the release. There are select dates across the US and Europe, including appearances at ATP Iceland and his live debut at Primavera Sound.

Lost Themes II:
01. Distant Dream
02. White Pulse
03. Persia Rising
04. Angel’s Asylum
05. Hofner Dawn
06. Windy Death
07. Dark Blues
08. Virtual Survivor
09. Bela Lugosi
10. Last Sunrise
11. Utopian Facade


Follow Consequence