Stream: Mike and the Melvins’ new album Three Men and a Baby

Sub Pop release nearly 20 years in the making is finally here

On April 1st, Three Men and a Baby, the long-delayed, collaborative LP between godheadSilo’s Mike Kunka and the Melvins, will hit shelves. In anticipation, the LP is streaming in full below courtesy of Rolling Stone.

Due out through Sub Pop, the album was originally recorded back in 1999, one year after Kunka’s godheadSilo project went on hiatus. It also came during a period in which the Melvins, in prolific fashion, had released three full-lengths in the span of 10 months for Ipecac Recordings.

Melvins frontman Buzz Osborne told Rolling Stone about the late ’90s sessions that eventually became Mike and the Melvins’ 12-track sludge fest Three Men and a Baby:

“Now, the funny thing about that is, and you can’t really tell, there’s almost no guitar on it. I’m doing all the low-end bass, Kevin [Rutmanis, circa-1999 Melvins bassist is] doing all the slide bass and Mike’s doing all the stuff that sounds like guitar. The whole idea was it was going to be three bass players. We got as far as we could get with that, and then it was time for him to do a bunch of vocals, and he just couldn’t figure out what he was going to do, so he said, “I’ll just take them home with me and then I’ll finish them.” And we never heard from him again. Just disappeared. Literally disappeared. Like phones disconnected. We heard that he moved out into the woods, then we heard some wild story about him getting whooping cough, which I was like, what is it, 1930?”

The album is preceded by the songs “Chicken n Dump” and “Limited Teeth”.

Pre-orders are ongoing.

Three Men and a Baby Tracklist:
01. Chicken n Dump
02. Limited Teeth
03. Bummer Conversation
04. Annalisa
05. A Dead Pile of Worthless Junk
06. Read the Label (It’s Chilli)
07. Dead Canaries
08. Pound the Giants
09. A Friend in Need is a Friend You Don’t Need
10. Lifestyle Hammer
11. Gravel
12. Art School Fight Song


Follow Consequence