Stream: Powerhouse crooner Gallant’s debut album Ology

CoSigned singer-songwriter drew inspiration from Foo Fighters, to Sufjan Stevens, to Toni Braxton


Powerhouse singer-songwriter Christopher Gallant will release his debut album Ology on April 6th through Mind Of A Genius. In anticipation, the album is streaming in full below (via NPR).

As Ben Kaye revealed in a recent CoSign feature on Gallant, the LA-by-way-of-Maryland crooner drew inspiration from an unlikely source in Dave Grohl, whose song “Learn to Fly” he recently covered.

“He’d just laid down some new production when he came across Grohl’s lyrics while seeking inspiration. Though the words meant one thing in their context, they fit what Gallant was feeling in a completely new way. ‘I didn’t want to just subconsciously draw influence from that because I didn’t think that would be the most honest thing that I could do,’ he explains. Deciding to cover it transformed the song into something that remained true in its own way.”

Gallant was also inspired by the likes of Incubus, Sufjan Stevens, and Toni Braxton while crafting the songs that eventually became Ology. For the album’s production, he found a partner and friend in Stint, who gave him a stunning platform of astronomical R&B, electronic flourishes, and rich atmosphere.

Listen to Ology in full:

Ology Tracklist:
01. First
02. Talking to Myself
03. Shotgun
04. Bourbon
05. Bone + Tissue
06. Oh, Universe
07. Weight in Gold
08. Episode
09. Miyazaki
10. Counting
11. Percogesic
12. Jupiter
13. Open Up
14. Skipping Stones (feat. Jhené Aiko)
15. Chandra
16. Last