Stream: Primal Scream’s new album Chaosmosis

Scottish outfit's first album in almost three years features HAIM and Sky Ferreira

Today, Primal Scream release their new album, Chaosmosis, through their own First International imprint. Spotify users can stream it in full below. It’s also available over at Apple Music.

Chaosmosis marks the Scottish outfit’s 11th to date following 2013’s More Light. Its 10 tracks include contributions from HAIM, Rachel Zeffira of Cat’s Eyes, and Sky Ferreira who guests on the single “Where the Light Gets In”. Primal Scream’s Bobby Gillespie and Andrew Innes co-produced the LP in Stockholm alongside Peter Bjorn and John’s Bjorn Yttling.

In a recent interview with i-D, Gillespie described the album as “Ecstatic Depressive Realism,” adding, “It’s a strange record, a lot of the music’s up, but the words are darker. I don’t wanna talk too much about the words and stuff, but something like Demon Music is very ‘up’ electronic pop, but the lyrics are dark, I guess it’s about some kind of fragmentation.”

He later noted how the band focused on writing another “pop” album. “I guess the idea was to try and write songs that could be singles,” he said. “The last album we wanted to make an experimental, psychedelic pop record, something sprawling, really loose and filmic. This record we wanted to change and bring more ‘single’ type songs. But you know we fucking love pop music.”

Order a copy of the LP here, and read Jeremy Zerbe’s review.

Chaosmosis Tracklist:
01. Trippin’ on Your Love
02. (Feeling Like A) Demon Again
03. I Can Change
04. 100% or Nothing
05. Private Wars
06. Where the Light Gets In
07. When the Blackout Meets the Fallout
08. Carnival of Fools
09. Golden Rope
10. Autumn in Paradise


Follow Consequence