J Dilla, Nas, and Madlib link up for “The Sickness” — listen

Massive collaboration is taken from Dilla's long-lost album The Diary

The Diary is J Dilla’s long-lost 2002 vocal album, set to finally see the light of the day on April 15th through PayJay/Mass Appeal Records. The 14-track effort collects previously unheard recordings from the late producer/rapper’s personal vault. New verses were contributed by Snoop Dogg, Bilal, and Kenny Wray, and additional production was handled by Madlib, Pete Rock, and Hi-tek.

Already we’ve heard two cuts off The Diary, “The Introduction” and “Gangsta Boogie”. Now, an iTunes bonus track called “The Sickness” has been revealed. Joining Dilla here are Madlib and Nas, whose verse was recorded this year. (Dilla recorded his parts back in 2001.) Nas spoke about his contribution in a statement:

“May J Dilla continue to Rest in Power in Hip Hop Heaven for eternity. Honored to play a part in his works and honored to be a part of this song. He shines down on us with while we get to enjoy his Diary Of J Dilla album. His word ring loud on this one. Salute to all those who collaborated on this piece. Salute to Detroit and his family.”

Stream it below.

The Diary Tracklist:
01. The Introduction
02. The Anthem (feat. Frank & Dank)
03. Fight Club (feat. Nottz & Boogie)
04. The Shining Pt. 1 (Diamonds) (feat. Kenny Wray)
05. The Shining Pt. 2 (Ice)
06. Trucks
07. Gangsta Boogie (feat. Snoop Dogg & Kokane)
08. Drive Me Wild
09. Give Them What They Want
10. The Creep (The O)
11. The Ex (feat. Bilal)
12. So Far
13. Fuck The Police
14. The Diary


Follow Consequence