Melvins root for the home team on “Take Me Out To The Ballgame” — listen

Taken from their upcoming Basses Loaded album, which features six different bassists

Last month, Melvins put out Three Men and a Baby, their long-in-the-works collaborative LP with godheadSilo’s Mike Kunka. Now, Buzz Osborne & co. are readying their second album of 2016 in Basses Loaded.

Due out June 3rd via Ipecac, the 12-track effort collects six different bass players, including Nirvana’s Krist NovoselicButthole Surfers’ J.D. Pinkus, and Redd Kross’ Steve McDonald. Dale Crover, who was part of Melvins’ 1983 lineup, appears on bass for four songs, including their newly released cover of “Take Me Out to the Ballgame”.

Issued to coincide with Major League Baseball’s Opening Day over the weekend, the sludge metal outfit’s cheery rendition can be heard over at Pitchfork.

For more of Basses Loaded, check out lead single “Hideous Woman”.

Basses Loaded Tracklist:
01. The Decay of Lying (Steve McDonald)
02. Choco Plumbing (Jared Warren)
03. Beer Hippie (Dale Crover, aka Melvins 1983 lineup)
04. I Want To Tell You (Steve McDonald)
05. Captain Come Down (JD Pinkus)
06. Hideous Woman (Steve McDonald)
07. Shaving Cream (Dale Crover, aka Melvins 1983 lineup)
08. Planet Distructo (Trevor Dunn, aka Melvins Lite lineup)
09. War Pussy (Steve McDonald)
10. Maybe I Am Amused (Krist Novoselic)
11. Phyllis Dillard (Dale Crover, aka Melvins 1983 lineup)
12. Take Me Out To The Ballgame (Dale Crover, aka Melvins 1983 lineup)


Follow Consequence