Mutual Benefit shares lovely new song “Lost Dreamers” — listen

Plus, Jordan Lee launches a Lost Dreamers contest

Jordan Lee established the patient vulnerability of his Mutual Benefit project on his 2013 debut, Love’s Crushing Diamond. His delicately crafted folk finds that sweet spot between aching and comfort that somehow reassures you all those scars were worth the cut. Never has that touching optimism been more apparent than on “Lost Dreamers”, the latest single from his forthcoming Skip a Sinking Stone.

“Lost Dreamers” is as gentle a song as you could hope for with a title like that. Violins and a vibraphone clear a path through the soft underbrush of the shuffling percussion, one Lee’s harmonies beckon you to follow him down. “Let’s take the long way home/ Let’s throw away our phones,” he sings. “We can see stars from the Earth/ Why would we go back anywhere?” There’s an airy effortlessness to the whole thing, which only serves to demonstrate just how beautiful a songwriter Lee really is.

Take a listen below.

Mutual Benefit has also launched a Lost Dreamers Contest on his website. Fans can share their dreams in written or visual form to be entered to win a test pressing of Skip a Sinking Stone, a limited edition grey-blue splattered LP, an original tour photo, and a dream journal. Lee will also select some of the dreams to be visualized by a group of artists and collected into an animated Mutual Benefit dream journal. Enter here.

Skip a Sinking Stone is due out May 20th via Mom+Pop. Revisit the album’s lead single, “Not for Nothing”, and find the full tracklist below.

Skip a Sinking Stone Tracklist:
01. Madrugada
02. Skipping Stones
03. Closer Still
04. Lost Dreamers
05. Getting Gone
06. Not for Nothing
07. Nocturne
08. Slow March
09. Many Returns
10. City Sirens
11. Fire Escape
12. The Hereafter


Follow Consequence