My Morning Jacket announce deluxe reissue of It Still Moves, featuring new mix of album

Package also includes demos, unreleased tracks, photographs, and more


My Morning Jacket have announced a deluxe reissue of their landmark third album, 2003’s It Still Moves. Coming as part of ATO’s 15th anniversary reissue campaign on May 27th, the four-LP/two-CD set will feature a completely new version of the original record housed in new cover art (above) and exclusive photos.

Frontman Jim James apparently has never quite been satisfied with the version of It Still Moves that was released years ago. “Everybody can relate to something they’ve done in their life where you didn’t know it at the time, but you were rushed through finishing it,” James said in a press release. 13 years on, he finally took the time to sit down with friend Kevin Ratterman (drummer of Wax Fang) to tweak and remix the entire album. Bob Ludwig handled remastering, and while the press release assures that the “shimmering grandeur” of the album that signaled a major expansion in MMJ’s sound remains, “there is an increased strength and clarity to it now.”

In addition to the new mix, the reissue will feature 10 of James’ original acoustic demos of the album, plus three never-before-released songs from the recording sessions.

As a taste of what the updated sound of the album feels like, the band has shared new mixes of standouts “Golden” and “Mahgeetah”. Below, take a listen both those tracks, which also come as instagrat downloads when you pre-order the It Still Moves reissue here.



It Still Moves Reissue Tracklist:
01. Mahgeetah
02. Dancefloors
03. Golden
04. Masterplan
05. One Big Boliday
06. I Will Sing You Songs
07. Easy Morning Rebel
08. Run Thru
09. Rollin Back
10. Just One Thing
11. Steam Engine
12. One In The Same

Bonus Material:
13. En La Ceremony
14. Grab A Body
15. That’s Too Bad
16. Mahgeetah (Demo)
17. Dancefloors (Demo)
18. Golden (Demo)
19. Masterplan (Demo)
20. I Will Sing You Songs (Demo)
21. Easy Morning Rebel (Demo)
22. Run Thru (Demo)
23. Rollin Back (Demo)
24. Steam Engine (Demo)
25. One In The Same (Demo)