Ryan Adams announces Heartbreaker deluxe reissue, shares “Locked Away” outtake — listen

The alternative country singer's debut record will rerelease on May 6th

Ryan Adams has announced a deluxe reissue of his seminal debut solo album, Heartbreaker. Due out May 6th through Adams’ own Paxam Records, the reissue will be available as either a four-LP/DVD box set or a two-CD/DVD package, each featuring the original fifteen tracks remastered alongside 20 bonus outtakes and demos.

Amongst the previously unreleased material are outtakes of classics like “To Be Young (Is To be Sad, Is To Be High)” and “Oh My Sweet Carolina”, as well as an early version of “When The Rope Gets Tight” and the French bonus track “Goodbye Honey”.

The included DVD, meanwhile, is a full concert film of Adams performing acoustically at New York City’s Mercury Lounge in October 2000. It was during this show that he performed his much beloved cover of Oasis’ “Wonderwall” for the very first time. All of this will be packaged with a glossy booklet containing previously unseen photos and liner notes from Heartbreaker producer and Adams’ frequent collaborator Ethan Johns.

After disbanding Whiskeytown, Heartbreaker was Adams’s chance to start afresh and saw him collaborating with Gillian Welch’s longtime musical parter Dave Rawlings. The record received universal critical acclaim, but spawned no singles and failed to chart in the states. However, it later went on to gain seminal status and cemented Adams as the alternative country musician with a passionate following that he is today.

As a preview Adams has released a never-before-heard outtake called “Locked Away”. Check it out below

Watch a teaser for the reissue below, followed by a look at the vinyl packaging and the tracklist. Pre-orders are ongoing.

ryan adams heartbreaker reissue

Heartbreaker Deluxe Box Set Reissue Tracklist: 

Side 1
01. Argument With David Rawlings Concerning Morrissey
02. To Be Young (Is To Be Sad, Is To Be High)
03. My Winding Wheel
04. Amy – Album Version

Side 2
01. Oh My Sweet Carolina
02. Bartering Lines
03. Call Me On Your Way Back Home
04. Damn, Sam (I Love A Woman That Rains)

Side 3
01. Come Pick Me Up
02. To Be The One
03. Why Do They Leave?
04. Shakedown On 9th Street

Side 4
01. Don’t Ask For The Water
02. In My Time Of Need
03. Sweet Lil Gal (23rd/1st)

Side 5
01. Hairdresser On Fire – Outtake *
02. To Be Young (Is To Be Sad, Is To Be High) – Outtake *
03. Petal In A Rainstorm – Outtake *
04. War Horse – Outtake *
05. Oh My Sweet Carolina – Outtake *

Side 6
01. Come Pick Me Up – Outtake
02. Punk Jam – Outtake *
03. When The Rope Gets Tight – Alternate Take *
04. When The Rope Gets Tight – Outtake
05. Goodbye Honey
06. In My Time Of Need – Outtake *

Side 7
01. Bartering Lines – Demo
02. Come Pick Me Up – Demo
03. To Be The One – Demo
04. Don’t Ask For The Water – Demo
05. In My Time Of Need – Demo

Side 8
01. Goodbye Honey – Demo
02. Petal In A Rainstorm – Demo
03. War Horse – Demo
04. Locked Away – Outtake

DVD – Live at The Mercury Lounge

01. Oh My Sweet Carolina
02. Gimme Sunshine
03. Banter
04. To Be Young (Is To Be Sad, Is To Be High)
05. AMY
06. Banter
07. Call Me On Your Way Back Home
08. Banter
09. Just Like A Whore
10. Wonderwall (Fragment)
11. Wonderwall (Complete Song)
12. Banter
13. Damn, Sam (Is To Be Sad, Is To Be High)
14. Sweet Lil’ Gal (23rd / 1st)
15. Come Pick Me Up
16. My Winding Wheel

* = Previously unreleased


Follow Consequence