Stream: Aesop Rock’s new album The Impossible Kid

Featuring a shot-for-shot visual remake of Stanley Kubrick's The Shining

This Friday, April 29th, Aesop Rock will release his new album, The Impossible Kid, through Rhymesayers. In anticipation, the LP is streaming in full below via an incredible shot-for-shot visual remake of The Shining.

The 15-track effort marks the MC’s first full-length in almost four years following the well-received Skelethon. It came together not long after he left San Francisco to deal with the passing of a close friend. According to Aes, it’s a personal record that explores death, depression, and family issues.

In an interview with Rolling Stone, the MC talked about how the LP came to be so honest:

“I don’t think I realized I was doing that until it was done, and then a couple people mentioned it and I was like, ‘Oh yeah!’ [laughs]. But I think it’s really my sliding up to 40 record. I think the age of 40 is the thing that looms over our heads and it’s got all these kind of … things that we attach to it. I think it’s just a period of reflection for me in a lot of ways. So I guess that’s kind of the shape that a lot of the songs took.”

The Impossible Kid is preceded by early singles “Rings” and “Lazy Eye”.

Pre-orders for the album are ongoing.

The Impossible Kid Tracklist:
01. Mystery Fish
02. Rings
03. Lotta Years
04. Dorks
05. Rabies
06. Supercell
07. Blood Sandwich
08. Get Out of the Car
09. Shrunk
10. Kirby
11. TUFF
12. Lazy Eye
13. Defender
14. Water Tower
15. Molecules


Follow Consequence