Stream: Animal Collective’s Deakin’s debut solo album Sleep Cycle

Plus, watch the video for "Just Am"

Sleep Cycle, the long-gestating debut solo album from Animal Collective’s Deakin, is finally ready for release. Originally begun in 2009 as part of a Kickstarter project, the six-track effort is available to stream/purchase now below via Bandcamp.

Deakin’s initial Kickstarter campaign was intended to raise money for a new book, CD, and trip to Mali for the Festival in the Desert. Some of the funds were also supposed to be donated to TEMEDT, a Mali-based organization working to end slavery. Three years after its launch, he offered an update, telling Pitchfork that the LP had not yet been completed and that all the Kickstarter money had instead been given to charity.

A press release details the reason for Sleep Cycle’s release setbacks:

“Due to personal and professional issues the project has been delayed for years. Most speculated that Deakin used the money that was raised to cover his own travel expenses. This was not the case. The entire trip and all of the subsequent costs to design manufacture and deliver the rewards were self funded except for a small portion that was set aside to help with a portion of shipping and manufacturing costs.”

The same statement notes that, while the album has been in the works for years now, only “the ambient tracks” date back to 2010:

“In 2015 Josh went into Rare Book Room studio with Nicolas Vernhes and recorded “Footy” and “Good House.” For that session Josh recruited long-time friend Tim Dewit (aka Dutch E. Germ, original member of Gang Gang Dance) to play drums on “Footy.” After hearing some demos, Pete Kember (aka Sonic Boom), asked to mix “Good House” and the resulting recording is what made the album. Josh finished the rest of the recording and mixing himself at home over the course of late 2015.”

Along with the stream, the official video for “Just Am” has been revealed below.

According to a press release, Sleep Cycle will be available on all digital retailers and streaming platforms this Friday, but will physically only be available on cassette.

Sleep Cycle Artwork: 


Sleep Cycle Tracklist:
01. Golden Chords
02. Just Am
03. Shadow Mine
04. Footy
05. Seed Song
06. Good House


Follow Consequence