Stream: Frightened Rabbit’s new album Painting of a Panic Attack

Follow-up to 2013's Pedestrian Verse was produced by The National's Aaron Dessner

Today, Frightened Rabbit release their new album, Painting of a Panic Attack, via Canvasback/Atlantic. Spotify users can stream it in full below. It’s also available over at Apple Music.

The 12-track effort marks the Glasgow outfit’s fifth studio effort following 2013’s Pedestrian Verse. Produced by Aaron Dessner of The National at his Brooklyn studio, it sees Frightened Rabbit incorporate new elements of electronic music into their folk rock sound.

Said to be the band’s “most accomplished collection yet,” it was written during a period of transition for the band, especially for frontman and lead songwriter Scott Hutchinson, who moved to Los Angeles to live with his girlfriend.

(Read: Still Here: A Conversation with Frightened Rabbit)

In her review of the album, Katherine Flynn writes,

Painting of a Panic Attack finds even more of Frightened Rabbit’s characteristic rough edges smoothed away to make room for sonic grandiosity. Early on, “Get Out” pairs electronic beats with plaintive synths to create a sparkling new soundscape. “Get out of my heart, she won’t, she won’t,” Hutchison sings, as his brother Grant comes thundering in on drums. It’s a marked shift from the plucked guitar intimacy and off-the-cuff feeling of, say, “Poke”, from 2008’s The Midnight Organ Fight.

The album is preceded by singles “Death Dream”, “Lump Street”, and “Get Out”.

Purchase a copy of the album here.

Painting of a Panic Attack Tracklist:
01. Death Dream
02. Get Out
03. I Wish I Was Sober
04. Woke Up Hurting
05. Little Drum
06. Still Want to Be Here
07. An Otherwise Disappointing Life
08. Break
09. Blood Under the Bridge
10. 400 Bones
11. Lump Street
12. Die Like a Rich Boy


Follow Consequence