Tom Petty premieres new Mudcrutch song “Beautiful World” — listen

Hopeful number comes in support of the band's first LP since 2008

After nearly a decade, Tom Petty has finally revived Mudcrutch, his pre-Heartbreakers band outfit with Mike Campbell, Tom Leadon, Randall Marsh, and Benmont Tench. Together, they’ll release their sophomore album, simply dubbed Mudcrutch 2, on May 20th via Reprise Records.

Last month, we heard its nostalgic lead single “Trailer”. This week, Petty & co. cheerfully look ahead to the future on new song “Beautiful World”. “It’s a beautiful world, so hold me tight,” they sing with a sense of optimism and awe, later adding, “So much before, so much behind me in this world of mystery.” Along with driving guitars and a power pop hook, strings can be heard softly humming in the background.

Stream it below.

Mudcrutch 2, the follow-up to 2008’s Mudcrutch, will be supported with a US tour that commences next month.

“Beautiful World” Artwork:


Mudcrutch 2 Tracklist:
01. Trailer
02. Dreams of Flying
03. Beautiful Blue
04. Beautiful World
05. I Forgive It All
06. The Other Side of the Mountain
07. Hope
08. Welcome to Hell
09. Save Your Water
10. Victim of Circumstance
11. Hungry No More


Follow Consequence