Rage Against the Machine, Public Enemy, and Cypress Hill members form new supergroup

Three-fourths of RATM, Chuck D, and B-Real come together as Prophets of Rage

The mystery has been solved; we now know the identity of Prophets of Rage.

It may not be a full-blown Rage Against the Machine reunion as some originally thought, but the new supergroup does feature three members of the hard-rock outfit: guitarist Tom Morello, bassist Tim Commerford, and drummer Brad Wilk. They’re joined by a pair of MCs in Chuck D of Public Enemy and Cypress Hill’s B-Real. RATM vocalist Zack de la Rocha is not involved.

According to Billboard, Prophets of Rage will make their debut at the Hollywood Palladium on June 3rd, where they will perform songs from Rage, Public Enemy, and Cypress Hill. A summer tour is also being “considered,” Billboard adds.

This is not the first time Morello, Commerford, and Wilk formed a project sans de la Rocha. In 2001, they teamed up with Chris Cornell for Audioslave. Their collaboration with Chuck D is not entirely out of left field, as they previously performed on stage with the Public Enemy rapper during a gig at the Pinkpop Festival in 1996 (see above). More recently, Morello and Chuck D performed together at the 2013 Grammys.


Follow Consequence