Stream: Paul Simon’s new album Stranger to Stranger

Iconic songwriter's 13th solo effort sees him at his most experimental


On June 3rd, Paul Simon will release his new album, Stranger to Stranger, through Concord Music Group. In anticipation, it’s streaming in full below courtesy of

The 11-track effort follows 2011’s So Beautiful or So What and marks his 13th solo effort to date. It sees the legendary songwriter at his most experimental, playing with electronic rhythms, African woodwind instruments, and the 43-tones-per-octave microtonal scale of music theorist Harry Parch.

“There are a lot of preconceptions [about my new work] because I have been familiar to the public for 50 years,” Simon told Rolling Stone. “They go, ‘Is it going to be Graceland? It is going to be ‘Me and Julio Down The Schoolyard?’ Simon and Garfunkel? The Capeman?’ To get people to listen with open ears, you have to really make something that is interesting because people are prepared for it not to be interesting.”

Frequent collaborator Roy Halee was brought out of retirement to help co-produce the LP. The 81-year-old had previously worked on all of Simon and Garfunkel’s albums, plus Graceland and Paul Simon. 

Stranger to Stranger is preceded by early singles “Wristband”, “Cool Papa Bell”, and “The Werewolf”.

Pre-order the album here.

Stranger to Stranger Tracklist:
01. The Werewolf
02. Wristband
03. The Clock
04. Street Angel
05. Stranger to Stranger
06. In a Parade
07. Proof of Love
08. In the Garden of Edie
09. The Riverbank
10. Cool Papa Bell
11. Insomniac’s Lullaby