Weaves give us a contagious summer anthem in “Coo Coo” — listen

Another promising preview of the group's debut album


Next month, Canada’s fast-rising Weaves will drop their self-titled debut album on Kanine Records. The 11-track effort was mixed by Alex Newport (Death Cab for Cutie, At The Drive In) and mastered by John Greenham (Death Grips, Sky Ferreira). Following previous offerings “One More” and “Candy”, the four-piece has let loose another promising number in the summer-ready “Coo Coo”.

A blend of crackling percussion and playful guitar lines lure listeners in, but it’s frontwoman Jasmyn Burkes who drives the whole thing home here. Her vocals are elastic and pop with a contagious energy, oftentimes reminiscent of her Karen O-esque delivery on the band’s early single “Take A Dip”.

Stream it below.

Weaves the album hits stores on June 17th. Find the band’s upcoming US tour dates here.

Weaves Tracklist:
01. Tick
02. Birds & Bees
03. Candy
04. Shithole
05. Eagle
06. Two Oceans
07. Human
08. Coo Coo
09. Sentence
10. One More
11. Stress