AJJ announce new album, The Bible 2, take the piss out of OK Go with “Goodbye, Oh Goodbye” video — watch

The lead single off the band's forthcoming sixth studio LP


AJJ (fka Andrew Jackson Jihad) have announced a sequel to the best-selling book of all time: The Bible. The Phoenix folk punk band will release The Bible 2 (an album, not actually a book nor a religious scripture) on August 19th via SideOneDummy.

The band’s sixth album overall, The Bible 2 was produced by popular indie producer John Congleton. As a first sample of the 11-track effort, AJJ have shared lead single “Goodbye, Oh Goodbye”. The song drives like a hammer, violins sawing back and forth over the thick slab of bass reverb. There’s a jolliness in the track that’s reflected well in the wonderfully silly video above, which could already be a contender for best music video of the year.

Shot in a single take, the clip clearly takes the piss out of viral video sensations OK Go. From the colorful T-shirts to the random use of household items — even the two-minute behind the scenes portion — it all spectacularly mocks the corporate sponsored, big-budget ball houses that other band road to stardom. (Author’s Note: I actually personally enjoy OK Go as a band, but you have to admit, the shots fired in AJJ’s video are pretty hysterical.)

Find the album art and complete tracklist below.

The Bible 2 Album Artwork:

ajj bible 2 e1467220315933 AJJ announce new album, The Bible 2, take the piss out of OK Go with Goodbye, Oh Goodbye video    watch

The Bible 2 Tracklist:
01. Cody’s Theme
02. Golden Eagle
03. Junkie Church
04. American Garbage
05. No More Shame, No More Fear, No More Dread
06. Goodbye, Oh Goodbye
07. White Worms
08. My Brain is a Human Body
09. Terrifyer
10. Small Red Boy
11. When I’m A Dead Boy