Devendra Banhart announces new album, Ape in Pink Marble, shares “Middle Names” — listen

The follow-up to 2013's Mala is due out this fall


Freak-folk phenom Devendra Banhart has announced the impending release of his ninth studio album, Ape in Pink Marble. Completed in collaboration with Noah Georgeson and Josiah Steinbrick, who both worked Banhart’s 2013 Mala LP, the new album is due September 23rd from Nonesuch Records.

As a first listen to the 13-track effort, Banhart has shared the lead single and opening track “Middle Names”. The dreamy ode to the passing of ships in the night is a sweet yet sad affair, gentle plucks of acoustic guitar dropping like rain from a gutter as wind blows in the background. “Why is the moon so bright?/ Why are you so nice?” Banhart coos. “See you alone at the Walgreens at night.”

Take a listen below.

Pre-orders for Ape in Pink Marble are going on via iTunes and All pre-orders come with an instant download of “Middle Names”, but those placed through Nonesuch’s store will also include an autographed limited-edition print of a Banhart original drawing. Find the album’s artwork and complete tracklist below.

Ape in Pink Marble Album Art:

Screen Shot 2016-06-24 at 1.20.55 PM

Ape in Pink Marble Tracklist:
01. Middle Names
02. Good Time Charlie
03. Jon Lends a Hand
04. Mara
05. Fancy Man
06. Fig in Leather
07. Theme for a Taiwanese Woman in Lime Green
08. Souvenirs
09. Mourner’s Dance
10. Saturday Night
11. Linda
12. Lucky
13. Celebration