of Montreal announce new album, Innocence Reaches, share “It’s Different for Girls” — listen

Frontman Kevin Barnes was inspired by Chairlift, Arca, and more


Photo by Robert Altman

Aside from a couple of short tours, of Montreal haven’t done much since releasing last year’s studio album, Aureate Gloom, and Snare Lustrous Doomings live project. That changes this week, though, as the Athens psych pop outfit has announced a new full-length. Entitled Innocence Reaches, it spans 12 tracks and sees of Montreal taking a cue from today’s current musical landscape, a new wellspring for frontman Kevin Barnes & co.

“Forever I’ve been detached from current music,” he explained in a press release (via Pitchfork). “I got into this bubble of only being in some other time period. I came up picking apart The Beach Boys, the Beatles, and symphonic pieces. But last year, I was hearing Jack Ü, Chairlift, Arca, and others, thinking about low end and sound collage. It was an extra layer to geek out on.”

Along with the LP news, of Montreal have shared “It’s Different for Girls”. Though the new track doesn’t exactly live in the world of EDM or industrial hip-hop, it does feature a driving rhythm as well as a bed of brightly glistening synths.

Stream it below.

Innocence Reaches arrives in stores on August 12th through Polyvinyl. Find the artwork and tracklist below, followed by the band’s upcoming dates.

Innocence Reaches Artwork:

of montreal innocence reaches of Montreal announce new album, Innocence Reaches, share Its Different for Girls    listen

Innocence Reaches Tracklist:
01. let’s relate
02. it’s different for girls
03. gratuitous abysses
04. my fair lady
05. les chants de maldoror
06. a sport and a pastime
07. ambassador bridge
08. def pacts
09. chaos arpeggiating
10. nursing slopes
11. trashed exes
12. chap pilot

of Montreal 2016 Tour Dates:
06/05 – Toronto, ON @ Field Tip Music & Arts Festival
06/17 – Vancouver, BC @ LEVITATION Vancouver
06/18 – Calgary, AB @ Flames Central
06/19 – Edmonton, AB @ The Needle Vinyl Tavern