Robyn joins Metronomy on new song “Hang Me Out To Dry” — listen

The latest preview of the UK band's forthcoming album, Summer 08

Robyn offers new album update
Robyn, photo by Philip Cosores

Photo by Killian Young

Metronomy are on the verge of releasing Summer 08, the follow-up to 2014’s Love Letters. The UK natives’ fifth full-length overall was previously teased with “Old Skool” and “Night Owl”. Now, they’re back with “Hang Me Out To Dry”, a collaboration with Robyn.

Premiered on Zane Lowe’s Beats 1 show, the track’s a minimal but pulsing number, its backbone built on chunky, lumbering synths. “Hang me out to dry, take me for a ride/ Do whatever you feel, like you’re behind the wheel,” the Swedish pop songstress can be heard singing. Metronomy had originally recorded an early version of the cut during sessions for their 2011 album, The English Riviera, but didn’t get around to putting the final touches on it until now.

Stream it below (scroll to the 1:35 mark).

Update — Thursday, December 15th at 9:30 a.m. CT: The music video for “Hang Me Out To Dry” has been revealed. Directed by filmmaker collective Dent De Cuir, it stars a heartbroken lover who torches her car after the dissolution of a relationship.

Summer 08 lands on shelves this Friday, July 1st.

As for Robyn, she’s been busy with her remix series project.

Summer 08 Tracklist:
01. Back Together
02. Miami Logic
03. Old Skool
04. 16 Beat
05. Hang Me Out to Dry (feat. Robyn)
06. Mick Slow
07. My House
08. Night Owl
09. Love’s Not an Obstacle
10. Summer Jam