Stream: Bat for Lashes’ new album The Bride

Natasha Khan's first LP under the moniker in almost four years


On July 1st, Natasha Khan will release her new Bat for Lashes album, The Bride, via the Echo Label Limited. In anticipation, it’s streaming in full below via

The 13-track collection marks Khan’s fourth LP under the Bat for Lashes moniker and follows 2012’s The Haunted Man. Co-produced by longtime collaborators Ben Christophers and Dan Carey, Simon Felice, and Head, it was inspired Khan’s short film I Do, which debuted at the Tribeca Film Festival earlier this year.

The Bride follows the story of a woman whose fiancé has been killed in a crash on the way to the church for their wedding,” a press release describes. “The Bride flees the scene to take the honeymoon trip alone, resulting in a dark meditation on love, loss, grief, and celebration.”

In a recent interview with The Line of Best Fit, Khan talked about the album’s narrative arc and the importance of storytelling:

“I feel it’s really interesting how the album starts with ‘I Do’. That and ‘If I Knew’ are the pivotal love songs of the album. They come from a very different personal perspective, with the character arc, because the way I treated it was as a storytelling piece.

“Storytelling for me is a construct that beautifies morals, ways to learn things and be a better human being. The world feels like we’re losing the good side of religious ideals — be kind to your neighbour and be part of a whole system of animals and creatures on the planet. I feel like I care enough to want to pass stories on, so that people can contemplate the things I’m thinking about, not that the things I’m thinking are any better or worse, but just my experience and sharing our humanity.”

The Bride is preceded by early cuts “I Do”, “In God’s House”, “Sunday Love”, and “Joe’s Dream”.

Pre-orders are ongoing.

The Bride Tracklist:
01. I Do
02. Joe’s Dream
03. In God’s House
04. Honeymooning Alone
05. Sunday Love
06. Never Forgive the Angels
07. Close Encounters
08. Widow’s Peak
09. Land’s End
10. If I Knew
11. I Will Love Again
12. In Your Bed
13. Clouds