Metallica announce new double album, Hardwired…To Self-Destruct

Lead single "Hardwired" is out now


Metallica have announced their long-awaited new studio album: Hardwired…To Self-Destruct will arrive November 18th.

The album spans 12 tracks across two discs, featuring 80 minutes of new music. Watch the video for opening track and lead single, “Hardwired”, below.

(Read: The Highs and Lows of Metallica)

Update: As Rolling Stone points out, a snippet of a new song called “Moth Into Flame” can be heard in a new trailer video for the album. Scroll to the 2:08 mark to hear it.

Pre-orders are ongoing in double CD, vinyl, and digital download formats. A deluxe version includes a third disc featuring riffs that were the origins of the album. All pre-orders include an instant download of “Hardwired”. Find the artwork and tracklist below.

Hardwired…To Self-Destruct marks Metallica’s first release since their 2011 collaboration with Lou Reed, Lulu, and their first album of new, original material since 2008’s Death Magnetic.

The album’s announcement came on the heels of the band’s live return in Minneapolis this weekend. They’ll open up the U.S. Bank Stadium with a gig on Saturday night.

Hardwired…To Self-Destruct Artwork:

metallica hardwired

Hardwired…To Self-Destruct Tracklist:

Disc One

01. Hardwired
02. Atlas, Rise!
03. Now That We’re Dead
04. Moth Into Flame
05. Am I Savage?
06. Halo On Fire

Disc Two

01. Confusion
02. Dream No More
03. ManUNkind
04. Here Comes Revenge
05. Murder One
06. Spit Out The Bone

Disc Three (Deluxe Edition)

01. Lords Of Summer
02. Riff Charge (Riff Origins)
03. N.W.O.B.H.M. A.T.M. (Riff Origins)
04. Tin Shot (Riff Origins)
05. Plow (Riff Origins)
06. Sawblade (Riff Origins)
07. RIP (Riff Origins)
08. Lima (Riff Origins)
09. 91 (Riff Origins)
10. MTO (Riff Origins)
11. RL72 (Riff Origins)
12. Frankenstein (Riff Origins)
13. CHI (Riff Origins)
14. X Dust (Riff Origins)